Fondling the Beadies – Texture – Heather Hertziger

14 11 2008

When I started out making beads I was very concerned with making sure my shaping was good and my beads were nice and smoothly rounded.  That was great, they were pretty beads and they sold.  Unfortunately, when I made jewelry out of nice smooth round beads I found the pieces sort of boring. 

I like jewelry that invites touch.  I incorporate a lot of different shapes in my pieces whether it is pressed Czech glass, gemstone chips, crystals, or different shapes of metal beads I like variety in the texture of my pieces.  When I was using nice smooth focal beads I found that because the focus of the piece was boring texturally the rest of the piece just didn’t have the touchability that I was trying to achieve with the piece. 

 That’s when I decided to attempt to bring in texture to my beads.  I found that the beads I would incorporate bumps, swirls, and various other texture techniques into didn’t always look good, but the ones that did made jewelry that I found much more interesting to myself.

These two pictures show a set of beads I added texture to and the bracelet and earring set that I created from them.  I think this set looks great and would not look nearly as nice without the twist and dots.  I hope you agree.When I started out making beads I was very concerned with making sure my shaping was good and my beads were nice and smoothly rounded.  That was great, they were pretty beads and they sold.  Unfortunately, when I made jewelry out of nice smooth round beads I found the pieces sort of boring. 

I like jewelry that invites touch.  I incorporate a lot of different shapes in my pieces whether it is pressed Czech glass, gemstone chips, crystals, or different shapes of metal beads I like variety in the texture of my pieces.  When I was using nice smooth focal beads I found that because the focus of the piece was boring texturally the rest of the piece just didn’t have the touchability that I was trying to achieve with the piece. 

 That’s when I decided to attempt to bring in texture to my beads.  I found that the beads I would incorporate bumps, swirls, and various other texture techniques into didn’t always look good, but the ones that did made jewelry that I found much more interesting to myself.

These two pictures show a set of beads I added texture to and the bracelet and earring set that I created from them.  I think this set looks great and would not look nearly as nice without the twist and dots.  I hope you agree.

 

Actions

Information

One response

2 09 2014
jewelrymlf

The information is really informative and i usually used your all ideas in my own way.
Great work you done..

Artisan Earrings

Leave a Reply

