Recharging – My plug ins – Heather Hertziger

11 09 2008

Occasionally there are days where I am to worn out to work.  On these days I just feel like a slug.  When this happens I don’t stress or push myself.  If I do try to push thru it quite often I just end up making it worse so instead I have learned to give in to it. 

 On my ‘to lazy to create days’ I pamper myself.  I take a long hot shower; I give myself a facial, manicure, and pedicure.  I will spend some time in my kitchen and create my favorite comfort foods.  Once my favorite food is ready I curl up on my couch with my dogs and a good book and just read and eat.  After a day like this I am often ready to go back to work the next day.

 Sometimes a lazy day isn’t what the doctor ordered.  On those days I prefer to grab a friend and head out to a café for an hour or two of coffee and gossip.  If a friend isn’t available then I take my dogs for a marathon walk.  Summer is a 9yo German shedder but she’s still got tons of energy in her and is always up for a nice long walk.  Spike is a 4-month-old Boxer mix who has more energy than both Summer and I combined.  Unlike talking to a friend though, bouncing ideas for jewelry and color combos off of them isn’t really productive.  They think every idea I come up with is marvelous and if I chose to string dog kibble on beading wire they’d adore it.  

Here is a picture of my adoring dogs.  Lousy critics but great relaxation buddies.

Written by Heather Hertziger, on a Mac 🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 09 2008
Laura

I feel like taking half a day myself today…I think I will. I like the idea of curling up with a book and it is kind of chilly out, so it’s the perfect day day to do it.

11 09 2008
Dorothy

German shedder–I love it! I have one of those, too (although I’m pretty sure that if I could knit I could make another one out of the hair!) Thanks for the laugh!

Leave a Reply

