Look at me! I’m Famous – Deanna Chase

23 06 2008

What? You didn’t get the memo. I know, it came as a surprise to me too. Don’t feel bad, now you know. 🙂 The first time Greg (my hubby) and I went to an ISGB Gathering, International Society of Glass Bead Makers, we were both surprised at the amount of people who knew who we were. Of course, instead of gushing about what fabulous creations we made they gushed about how cool our lifestyle was. At the time we lived in an RV and traveled the US continuously, selling our beads and marbles online. We were stopped by numerous people with the, “Oh you’re the RV people. That is sooo cool! I wanna be you when I grow up.”

Okay, so we didn’t become famous, or is it notorious, in our little bead world by making fun stuff, though we think we do, we became known for our wacky lifestyle. Hey if it works roll with it, I say. So we have become known as the traveling vagabonds. Mostly people came to know us through message boards. I had a tiny 80 x80 picture of both of in an avatar and you’d be amazed at how many people recognized us from that tiny little picture. Be forewarned, when posting on message boards, there are far more people reading your words than you will ever know. So keep it positive people.

The reality now is, we no longer live in an RV. After four and a half years, I was ready for a house and a real studio. It has been almost a year now and I don’t miss being on the road all the time. I miss the traveling, but not the living in the RV part. It was great fun and I’ll always treasure it, who knows maybe I’ll do it again someday. But for now, I am happy where I’m at. So, will we still be famous? Probably not, though we have made a name for ourselves in the bead and marble world and thats all I really care about. Maybe we won’t see our names up in lights, but the business keeps the cash flowing and we don’t have to work outside jobs, and that is all the fortune I need.

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 06 2008
Andrea Q

Thank you for sharing this, especially the reminder about keeping our words positive in public forums. Enjoy your studio!

26 06 2008
Oksana

It sounds exciting and adventurous! I believe the richness of our life experiences is reflected in our art.

28 06 2008
joolzbylisa

After your first bestseller, I’ll be able to say “I knew her when…” 🙂

The marbles are amazing…even after watching Greg make one, I still think there is magic involved!

Leave a Reply

