Color Me All Over the Place — Lisa Liddy

10 06 2008

When it comes to choosing colors for jewelry, I admit it—I am all over the place. I buy beads and pearls and other supplies in the colors that I like first. Then I look around at what is HOT for the season (might seem a backward approach but I get where I need to be eventually). Usually there is some overlap (always a good thing!). And I’m always looking at the classics and neutrals.

If I’m wearing it this summer, it’s likely to be fuschia, orange, hot pink and black. Somehow my summer casual wardrobe (6 months of wear in AZ!) ended up in those color combos. I call it “accidental coordination”. My sub-conscious knew more than I did when I was out looking for clothes! This bracelet is actually my daughter’s but if she doesn’t start wearing it soon, I’ll reclaim it!

I’m a sucker for black and white in jewelry, too. It always sells and no one seems to think you can have too many pieces in that color scheme! And I’ve also gotten hooked on pale pink and brown like in this ring. I call these “Sex and the City” colors!

As I’ve gotten more years behind me in the business, I’ve tended to avoid most holiday, seasonal colors (with the exception of a very few red, green, and white pieces) in favor of more marketable year-round colors. And in the “rules are made to be broken” category, I’m working on a red, white, blue bracelet—but that is really more for another blogging project than to sell. I have some great ideas in holiday color schemes, but I find my style of jewelry doesn’t sell easily when wearing time is limited.

All shades of purple appeal to me and to my buyers. It’s such a comforting color palette for me too. When I am having a creative drought, I pull out my purple stash and start to relax and let things flow.

Another combination that always makes me feel good are “watermelon” shades: pinks, greens, reds… Especially for summer but I make Melonhead Joolz year-round thanks to generous beadmaker friends.

Eventually, I’m going to get my office repainted in soothing shades of teal and mauvey plum. I have had the paint chips picked out for a year but if you’ve been in my office, you’d know what an ordeal it will be to paint.

I told you I’m all over the place with colors! I’ve thought about sorting all my handmade glass beads by color, but I’m half afraid where I saw “gaps” in the color wheel, I’d feel the need to fill in and that would be a bad thing!

I really can’t imagine life without all the colors of the rainbow in beads!

www.joolzbylisa.com     www.lisaliddy.wordpress.com

Actions

Information

6 responses

10 06 2008
Oksana

Lisa,
You have fantastic color combinations, as well as subtle textural combinations that are lovely- balanced, soft, no one element overpowers the design.
Great use of colored fonts, too!
Warmly,
Oksana/

10 06 2008
joolzbylisa

Thanks Oksana…I was afraid I was bordering on “cutesie” with the fonts but it was fun…

10 06 2008
bijouxdellostregatto

Wonderful bracelets! I love the colors!

10 06 2008
Annette Piper

I too love those watermelon shades! Beautiful work 🙂

11 06 2008
Lori Anderson

I want them AAAAALLLLLL.

No seriously.

Hand them over and no one will be hurt.

19 06 2008
Laura

My colors are all over the the place too! Though, I recently wrote about this new attraction I have to pink and orange…it’s becoming a borderline obsession!

Leave a Reply

