Recharging- Oksana Prokopenko.

29 05 2008

One of the reasons I write is that I seem to acquire a magical ability to connect the dots previously unseen, to air out vague yet profound feelings. It is as if I rake up old, last year’s leaves of ideas off the surface to uncover a sleepy crystal clear lake underneath, brimming with new life and desire. Yet I was surprised, that while intending to write of hikes and forests, rivers and mountains (my preferred recharge environment), I wrote of etsy.
I still do not fully understand why I started an etsy shop. I am not a shopkeeper. Promoting things is not one of my strengths. I can hardly do the same item twice.
Then I had an insight why mulling over the upcoming post:
I like the freedom it gives me to experiment with new stuff. It is as if I put on a different hat and allow myself to do things quirky and odd, out of my ordinary routine. I realized that I think of myself as a serious artist- too serious, really, to my own detriment! I’ve forgotten how to have fun with all things creative. This of course explains why I could not put my name down- me? Associated with all these seemingly unrelated crazy things? No way!
And yet, I inch forward in the new direction. My etsy shop has become more of a lab: a place to try, a permission to fail, no strings attached. I understand now that it was not the business I was after, but a place to play. The shop has become my playground. I have explored with a child’s curiosity. I have tried mediums from decoupage to video in just the past six months. I am learning to get out of my own way, and silliness and joy are back on my daily agenda.
Surprisingly (or is it?), my other ‘serious’ self has only benefited!

www.oksanapro.com

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 05 2008
Laura

Your Etsy shop is lovely and the photos of your pieces are fantastic…I am not as playful when it comes to my shop, though I’d like to be. I feel like I need to recharge and come back to it with a more playful attitude…instead I stress out about how understocked it is. I too, usually write to clear my mind and my favorite recharge environments are woods and water!

8 06 2008
Netty Gritty

I loved this post. Thanks for sharing this blog in my blog! D
I am also an artist and I can totally understand what you were getting at. I think this is a big advantage of an artist – s-he can be playfully serious about anything in the world! 😀

Leave a Reply

