Studio – Annette Piper

19 04 2008

The luxury of a studio is something we as artisans or artists all desire and most of us manage to some degree.   I would love to have a studio that is free-standing, with masses of storage, a display area and somewhere for clients to visit and make their purchases. 

 

In the meantime I am content with my half of the study/workroom that I have to share with my husband, the children and our farming business.  However, I am making a good attempt at taking over this room completely.  

 

I have one wall dedicated to my work bench above which is shelving for my stones and for my books.   As I have to share, however, it isn’t big enough for all my things.   The opposite wall also has some shelving and I have managed to snag about a third of that for storing my display equipment.   We have a long banquet sized table in this room that is purportedly for my husband to use.  I have managed to cover two thirds of that with boxes filled with stones and pearls.   The family computer is also in this room, however I spend the most time on it and feel it is in ‘my’ space.   As this room is part of our house, my torch is set up down in my husband’s shed.

 

My ‘studio’ is a great space to work though.  The room is usually a good temperature, it is large and the light during the day is good, even though it doesn’t get any direct sunshine in through the windows.   All these things add up to me liking to be in there, which is great for productivity – although not so good when it’s time to stop. 

 

I see clients in either my dining room with its excellent natural daylight for viewing finished pieces, or they like to sit with me at my bench, while we work out their designs.  The drawback of course is that I have to have a very tidy house all the time – just in case I have clients come to call.  As anyone with younger children would know, this is often a challenge. 

 

I shall continue to dream, however, of that ideal stand-alone studio and maybe one day that dream will come true

Pearl and gemstone bracelet by Annette Piper Dip. Gem. Handcrafted Jewellery

www.annettepiper.com

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 04 2008
Lunes

Keep dreaming, I did for several years and if you really believe it will come true.
I now have just that, a workspace, show space and storage space…..! Kylee

26 04 2008
Susan

Reminds me of Virginia Woolf–“A Room of One’s Own.” Hope you manage to snag one some day.

Leave a Reply

