Color – Deanna Chase

23 11 2007

Why are we drawn to work with certain colors?  Almost always, when I sit down to work, I think to use the color blue.  It never fails.  My first choice is always blue.  I think I would make every bead in blue if I thought I could sell them all.  I wonder if there is something to the meaning of colors.

Blue is said to represent the sky and sea. It is often associated with depth and stability. It symbolizes trust, loyalty, wisdom, confidence, intelligence, faith, truth, and heaven.  Blue is considered beneficial to the mind and body. It slows human metabolism and produces a calming effect. Blue is strongly associated with tranquility and calmness. In heraldry, blue is used to symbolize piety and sincerity. Taken from Color Wheel Pro

There could be something to that.  I remember last time Greg and I went to the coast.  It was in South Carolina, as we headed out to Hilton Head Island.  I told him as we crossed the bridges, I just feel more peaceful every time I look at the ocean.  The calmness just takes over.  I never want to leave.  Above all I treasure tranquility and calmness.  One of my favorite sayings is “I just don’t do drama.”  I crave peacefulness.   

Does this mean that when I do choose to work in another color, I am feeling different?  Lets talk about red.  I like red.  I even wear red quite a lot.  But I don’t usually choose to work with it.  Every once in a while, I pick up red and run with it, but blue is still almost always my first choice.Red is the color of fire and blood, so it is associated with energy, war, danger, strength, power, determination as well as passion, desire, and love.  Red is a very emotionally intense color.

Red seems almost the exact opposite of blue doesn’t it?  Blue definitely fits my personality better in my opinion.  I would not call myself an intense person.  So maybe there is something to the meaning of color and why we work with them.  The other explanation could be I wear blue jeans almost daily, so blue would match almost everything I wear.

Deanna

Chase Designs 

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 11 2007
Kate Smith

Here’s more on the color blue All About The Color Blue that you might find interesting.

Julie posted an aricle on our blog about her current attraction to the color violet Visions of Violet

27 11 2007
Connie

Some interesting thoughts, Deanna! It made me think a bit, which is a good thing! 🙂 I love greens, and I gravitate toward them. I find when I am designing tho, I tend to choose colors that I think others might like, and do opposite designs of what I would choose to wear. I think since I began making jewelry, I have taken a new look at color in general. Interesting subject to contemplate!

17 12 2007
loribeads

I always reach for pink. I think that makes me related to Barbie, right?

Leave a Reply

