Dreamsickle – Connie Wyatt

1 11 2007

I was a wee lass all of about 7 years of age when Daddy came home one day on a motorcycle!  Everyone seemed giddy with excitement and my siblings were clamoring for a ride.  NOT me, however!  I was terrified!  But, as the oldest, I was obliged to experience the first ride on the seat behind Daddy.  He told me to hang on tight, which I did, but I was stiff and rigid, eyes as big as saucers and screaming the whole way around the block.  I didn’t understand that I should have melted into his back and go with the flow.  I think he was more than happy to dump me off safe and sound back in the front yard, and take my sister for her wild ride, for which she screamed with hearty giddy delight!  From that time on, I have always looked at bikes as a horrifying apparatus that can kill and maim.  I have never had anything positive to say about them. 

I confess that story to tell you the next one.  A few years ago, the Discovery Channel aired a show called “American Chopper” and my husband and I began to watch the show together, as we are always looking for those programs that are a compromise of our very different tastes so that we might sit in a companionable atmosphere in our living room and enjoy a bit of camaraderie.  This show was supposed to be about building choppers.  Why in the world was I watching this program with my uncompromising attitude toward bikes?  Quite simply, I was attracted to the fiery relationship between the volatile father and his artistic son.   My sympathies lay with the son for the most part.  But, I was further drawn in by him because of his creative process.  I felt I understood him and had a kindred spirit with him on some level, even thru the television!  So, this show became a weekly habit for my dear husband and me and it garnered great discussions between us about the artistic process as well as the business aspect of the show.

One week they were working on a custom bike for someone, my memory as to who the customer was escapes me at the moment…perhaps it was the “Go Daddy” bike.  All I recall was that the colors were orange and green.  For some reason, I was so drawn to that bike.  I was attracted to the colors they were using.  As the show progressed, all their parts were coming back from the chromers and the painters, and they were opening the boxes and removing the parts from their protective bubble wrap I realized that I was watching while holding my breath, so excited I was to see the reveal of each part and piece.  While all this was going on, another part of me was taking note of my reactions and pondering over it.  Why was this thrill passing over me?  Why did I care so much?  What was it about seeing them open their boxes that got to me in that way?  And then it hit me!!!  All those parts looked like jewelry to me!  I had that same sense of thrill whenever I received a shipment of beads and jewelry findings.  Opening each component of my order is always a thrill of discovery.  But that was only part of it.  I was so enthralled with this particular build; I was mentally designing jewelry in my head as I watched the show!

After the show, I excitedly went to my bench and started pulling out beads.  I already had a name for my new necklace to be!  I was going to call it “Dreamsickle” and it was going to have the lovely orange colors that I saw on that bike Paul Junior was building!  Unfortunately for me, my first attempts did not excite me.  I pulled out so many different beads and kept trying to put them together in a myriad of combinations and was not coming up with anything that had that “wow” factor that I was looking for.  So, in frustration, I put all the beads away, and shelved the project.  But, it never left my mind.  Every time I sat down at the bench, I would keep trying to find just the right combination of beads to create my “Dreamsickle.”  Finally, after about a month, one day, it just came to me, and when it did, the necklace just fell into place for me, practically stringing itself together and I knew that at long last I had my special piece! 

 In the creation process, things can come together for you in different ways.  I have had pieces that just came to me out of the blue and fell together neatly in one try.  I have had other ideas that come together after much struggle and frustration.  There are also those elusive ideas just on the tip of your brain, and when you sit down and try to remember that stroke of creative genius, it escapes you altogether.  In truth, I think the process is difficult to pin down and it probably differs from one artist to the next.  For me, the “Dreamsickle” necklace set will always represent that moment in time when I recognized my own creative process.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 11 2007
Annette

I like the title of your piece as well as the acknowledgement, realization and lesson that where once fear existed that now a true appreciation had replaced it with mature eyes and time. When wisdom and experience looks at something or someone long enough we can find things we have in common, even love , when before there may have been disdain or fear. Dreamsickle is a good lesson in life to revisit past “hates” or anxieties perhaps developed in childhood or in young life. If these revisited closed doors or rejections are people, ideas, things, foods, predudice, or good in general, it may facilitate growth in areas unfortunately before stunted for whatever reason. To perhaps give them another chance with an older and wiser perspective we have today rather than with the perception and limited reasoning we had as a child could open up a whole new world for us. We may be in for a wild, exciting and exhilarating ride of a lifetime!

2 11 2007
Connie

Thank you, Annette for your wise commentary! I am glad you came by and took the time to read it. I still have nervous trepidation everytime DH gets on his street bike to go to work because I want him to be safe, but I have relented a lot because he loves it and it does have economical plus sides!

Leave a Reply

