Recharging – Annette Piper

20 10 2007

 

I am currently at the start of my spring and summer show season here in the southern hemisphere.  This is what I have been workingall winter for and I am very excited to finally be moving forward into my prime sales season.  I love springtime, not only for the beautiful weather after the cold, dim days of winter, but because people start to bare their necks and realize that they need something beautiful to put there!  This means a selling frenzy in some instances and I can guarantee by the time that January arrives I will be exhausted! All the hard work of sourcing stones followed by rushes of designing and making as the muse takes me will finally be paying off not just financially but in the satisfaction I receive in seeing other people enjoy wearing my pieces.   

But what happens after this flurry of activity?  Traditionally things slow down for me  in the sales and order department from mid- January through April.  This is my time to sit back and enjoy the ‘fruits of my labours’,  a time to recharge.  I think creative people get burned out after a particularly busy time and I am surely no exception to this rule. If you have been very ill, you need a time to recuperate and to get back some energy and it is the same with your creativity.  I will work at every opportunity for days on end designing jewellery, then I go for days without doing a thing in that department.  Not very efficient, I know, but it works for me.   I recharge my energy levels by taking it easy, going to bed a bit earlier, reducing my commitments and taking a step back from the bench.   But recharging my energy levels doesn’t always mean that I have recharged my creativity levels.  Fortunately the muse doesn’t desert me for long.  

Luckily for me, my chosen work really is my passion.  There is always something waiting to burst forth.   What is my passion, you ask?  Gemstones!  And working with them every day makes me inordinately happy.   I take my inspiration from the stones and let them lead me on the route to how they will look best in jewellery.   I studied gemology too many years ago to happily admit, but when I looked at gemstones under a loupe or microscope and saw the little worlds that existed within the stones, unheeded by all but a few, I was hooked for life.   Gazing into a few stones, appreciating their differences and their beauty can quite quickly send me into an almost feverish designing phase!

At the moment, I really have no time for gazing, except into pieces that I have already made. This allows me to share my passion with my customer, which we both appreciate!    However I do look forward to the time, still a couple of months distant, when I can unwind, relax, perhaps read a book. I am secure in the knowledge I will have always have new gems to look at and use in my designs.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 10 2007
joolzbylisa

Great article Annette! I can relate to so much of it. Especially the breaks where you have nothing to do with jewelry after the mad dash to get ready for shows.

21 10 2007
www.topjewelryforyou.info » Recharging - Annette Piper

[…] Susan Sheehan placed an interesting blog post on Recharging – Annette Piper.Here’s a brief overview:All the hard work of sourcing stones followed by rushes of designing and making as the muse takes me will finally be paying off not just financially but in the satisfaction I receive in seeing other people enjoy wearing my pieces. … […]

23 10 2007
Annette Piper

Thanks Lisa! I’m in a mini-recharge at the moment after being flat to the board for the last couple of months!

Leave a Reply

