Fashion and Trends – Lisa Liddy

4 10 2007

Hmmm…this is a tougher topic to discuss than I imagined. As a jewelry designer whose goal is to sell my work, I have to be aware of seasons and colors and trends to a certain extent. Having local buyers in an area with next to no seasons (Hot and Hotter are not seasons, but half the year it seems!), I have to push myself to work on Fall and Winter items (it just dipped below 100 degrees here last week) when I’d rather work on summery pieces for another few weeks. I’ve learned that the window is much too small to invest in holiday-themed jewelry designs, other than a few new Christmas colored pieces. But then I also have to remember my website buyers who live in all sorts of climates where they are bundled up a good portion of the year. Where heavier, larger necklaces display on sweaters, and bracelets of substance fight to be seen around long sleeves and gloves.  

I do find that I am less driven by the “current” trends as dictated by fashion experts unknown to me, and more driven by what I like and how it works with my style of jewelry. “Fashion and trends” go in and out of style, as much to make us think we need to keep up, as anything substantial. I like to think I’m creating pieces that will stand the test of time and trends—to be worn often because the owner is comfortable with her own style, regardless of what the magazines and online sources tell her. 

And now I’m off to read up on the latest trends to see if I’ve hit the mark or if I’ll have to rely on creating new trends!

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 10 2007
DChase

Timeless…yes I think you capture that. I love your work.

5 10 2007
Connie

I think you have hit the nail on the head! I think jewelry can have a seasonal look, but I also think there are pieces that are just timeless. As women, we also tend to wear items that reflect our mood at the moment, so we might choose a bright cheery piece belonging to spring, to wear on a dark moody winter’s day because our heart is light and happy and that springtime necklace just calls out to us in the moment! Good job, Lisa!

5 10 2007
Style » Fashion and Trends - Lisa Liddy

[…] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI do find that I am less driven by the “current” trends as dictated by fashion experts unknown to me, and more driven by what I like and how it works with my style of jewelry. “Fashion and trends” go in and out of style, as much to make … […]

Leave a Reply

