More on Motivation – Lisa Liddy

10 03 2008

I have procrastinated on this topic as it frustrates me as often as it excites me. And hoped that someone else would jump in with another topic! Since no one is going to save me, I’ll lead with another look at Motivation.Designing jewelry is something I kind of fell into. It was a way to hang onto a shred of sanity during an incredibly difficult time a few years ago. It relaxed me. And then people wanted to buy what I made (which meant I could buy more beads and silver and pearls…without feeling too guilty!) and that was satisfying as well as motivating. Sometimes.But real life gets in the way more times than not and things don’t happen at a pace that you would like. I’ve always worked best under pressure…deadline-driven is how my other business has to operate and I’m much more productive when there are hard deadlines. Like many artists, though, the thrill of having someone want your work is often as motivational as the monetary result. It pushes me to step out of my box more and reach for new ideas. However, sales of jewelry aren’t exactly “needs” in the economic scheme of things, so when sales are slow, the motivation to create new things slows for me as well. It should work the opposite and I’m working to change that mindset.Something else I’m trying to jumpstart the motivation is to incorporate some “new” activities into my day and week. Instead of feeling like any free time from the book design business should be spent on the Joolz business, I’ve been looking into crocheting again. And dabbling into felting beads. I love yarns and wools (ironic since it is too darn hot for most of those materials most of the year in Arizona), and I’m looking more at the fun fibers for my play time. We’ll see where that goes.fiberheart1.jpg

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 03 2008
Christine

I absolutely love this piece. Where is your shop? I would love to check out more of your works.

20 03 2008
Susan Sheehan

You can find more of Lisa’s work here:
http://www.joolzbylisa.com/

6 04 2008
limamike

Yummy nummy. You remain one of my favorite artists. Ever.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

