Motivation – Lori Anderson

29 02 2008

Motivation is one of those intangible things that I can’t really define as it pertains to ME.  It seems to change all the time.  So I’ll give you some “for-instances”. 

  • I’m motivated when my design table gets overloaded with beads, to the point where I can’t see the table top any longer.  I start picking up whatever’s on the table, and I MUST make something with it.  That way I clear the table and have a lot of new things made, too – but wait, now what do I do with all the beads I took out to accent the beads that WERE on the table……

Messy Studio  

  • I’m motivated when I have a show coming up.  I always like to have new things at each show, and it seems that the couple of weeks before a show I go into overdrive.

  • I’m motivated when I have the house to myself.  If I have no interruptions, I turn on TIVO’d programs to listen to (CSI, Cold Case Files, things like that) and go to town.  I so rarely get alone time that it’s a real treat, and I use it!

  • I’m motivated by some inner drive that keeps me going – the desire to constantly change, to constantly improve what I do, to every now and then make something that really amazes me.

    Motivation is such a personal thing, and it can take on many faces.  Whatever it is for you, I hope that it propels you into new and exciting ventures this year!  

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 02 2008
thebeadden

That is stunning. I can’t wait to make things that look so professional. Thanks for sharing.

6 04 2008
limamike

Well that bracelet is one of my favs — I learned that technique from Jen Cook, who is no longer making beads or jewelry, much to my sadness. She rocked the world with her stuff. But she published the tutorial in a 2007 Bead and Button magazine — check it out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

